- Captain William Johnson, a retired British officer, owned forty acres of land in what was the Buffalo business center as recorded in 1879. This plot was bounded by Seneca, Washington on the west; little Buffalo Creek -
on the south and east, to a line which would define an area of forty acres, and ran parallel to Washington. Johnson laid out a small burial ground on his own homestead, the first in the settlement.
- This was a few rods square and at the corner of Crow (now Exchange) and Washington Street.
This homestead was later owned by
- FRANKLIN SQUARE CEMETERY (City of Buffalo)
- A Captain Pratt, in 1804, accompanied Dr. Cyrenius Chapin to Batavia where they obtained a "Land Contract" from the Holland Land Company for the so-called "Franklin Square lot", for a village burying ground.
- The title to the first, or Johnston burial ground, was in the family of that name; had not and might not ever be deeded to the village. This was the reason for establishing the new burial place. The Johnston place' indeed,
was mortgaged to the Cayuga nation through Jasper Parrish, agent and trustee therefore, and foreclosed
for non-payment in 1811. The present Terrace extended, in 1804, north and beyond this Franklin Square lot,
- which was a central portion of the Terrace.In March, 1815, the famous Indian Chief, Farmers Brother,
was buried in this plot with military honors. At a later date, as the village grew, the bodies were removed to Forest Lawn Cemetery.
- Curiously, while Franklin Square was used as a cemetery by the village under "Land Contract" and permission of the Holland Land company, real title thereto was not obtained until 1821, the reason therefore being that there was no village corporation to take title. There were no lot owners, but, upon application, family lots or single graves were assigned by the Trustees until 1832 when burials in the plot ceased, by special arrangements.
- In 1836 the Wife of Samuel Wilkeson, daughter of Gamaliel St. John, was buried here.
- THE COLD SPRING BURYING GROUNDS (City of Buffalo)
- The location was on lot 59, now the southwest corner of Delaware and Ferry Street. There were some burials there prior to 1812, in all, there were nearly 100 burials, the the bodies remaining in this cemetery until 1850 when they were removed to Forest Lawn Cemetery.
- This ground was never formally granted for a cemetery but, by consent of the owner, was used for that purpose as a community cemetery by the few families residing in the neighborhood. (The name of the owner is not given). The exhumation and removal of bodies recorded evidently was a complete job as, in 1876, when Ferry Street was widened, at the corner above mentioned some human bones were ploughed up, but these were gathered together, taken to Forest Lawn Cemetery and buried with the previously interred bones.
- DELAWARE AND NORTH STREET BURYING GROUNDS (City of Buffalo)
- About 1830 Lewis F. Allen bought of Judge Ebenezer Walden five acres at the south west corner of Delaware and North Street and east of Bowery Street, which latter is now Irving Place. An association was formed consisting of Allen, George B., Webster, Russell Heywood, Herman B. Potter, and Hiram Pratt, as trustees.The land was surveyed into lots by Joseph Clary. This evidently was as association for profit;
- a number of lots were sold but the bodies interred were removed to Forest Lawn Cemetery and the cemetery was abandoned about 1888-1892.
- POTTERS FIELD (City of Buffalo)
- Cholera raged in 1832 and the Council provided a burial spot, to be ready in case this pestilence should demand increased room for the dead. For this purpose William Hodge sold to the City five acres of farm lot No. 30, between North and Best Streets and west of Prospect street, for Potter's Field. A portion of it set apart for Roman Catholics.
- BLACK ROCK BURYING GROUND (City of Buffalo , now)
- When the south village of Black Rock was surveyed, in 1804 or 1805, lots Nos. 41 and 42 were appropriated by the City for burial purpose but were not used because of the character of the ground. When the village was incorporated, Col. William A. Bird procured for the corporation, in exchange for two lots mentioned, lot No. 88 on North Street, bound by jersey, Pennsylvania and Fourteenth Streets, and the "Mile Strip"
- now (1879) known as "The Avenue". When "Guide Board Road", now North Street, was built, it cut this burial lot in two parts. A small triangular section on the south side was thereafter used by the City of Buffalo as a Potter's Field for the burial of those dying at the Poor House.
- BIDWELL FARM BURYING GROUND (City of Buffalo)
- MATHEWS AND WILCOX GROUNDS (City of Buffalo)
- FOREST LAWN CEMETERY (City of Buffalo)
- THE MOUND - A MYSTERY (City of Buffalo)
LIST OF ALL OTHER BURIAL PLACES EXISTING IN THE YEAR 1879 -
IN AND NEAR THE CITY OF BUFFALO
ROMAN CATHOLIC CEMETERIES
Old St. Louis Cemetery - Edward Street near Main. Burials commenced 1830, in ground burials given by Mr. Lecouteulx. City prohibited further burial in 1832. Bodies transferred to New St. Louis Cemetery. (City of Buffalo)
New St. Louis Cemetery - Plot set off from city's Potter's Field, between North and Best Streets; an acre of ground, used from 1832 to 1859, when closed. (City of Buffalo)
Old St. Mary's Cemetery - Situated on south east corner of Johnson and North Streets; opened 1845; closed 1860. Contains 1 1/2 acres.
many bodies removed to new ground at Pine Hill, although still a cemetery and used for no other purpose (1879). (City of Buffalo)
St. Francis Xavier Cemetery - This ground is at North Buffalo (Lower Black Rock). Opened 1850 and still in use (1879). Situated near crossing of Bird Street at the N.Y. central Falls Branch; contains 2 acres. St. Johns Church, North buffalo, also has use of these grounds. (City of Buffalo)
St. Joseph's Cemetery - Situated at Elysville on Buffalo Plains, just south of the poor-house, about five miles from the Buffalo Post Office. Opened in 1850, and still in use (1879). Contains about six acres. (City of Buffalo)
Holy Cross Cemetery - At Limestone hill, South Buffalo, 4 miles from P.O. Opened in 1855 and contains 80 acres. Distinguished as being the bishop's Cemetery, and not under state laws as are all others.
Used exclusively for the burial of those of Irish birth. (City of Buffalo)
United German and French Cemetery - German and French Roman Catholics are buried here. Akin to Forest Lawn in that a combination of several old cemeteries.
Opened in 1859; comprises 14 acres; additional ground purchased 1870, 28 acres, making 42 in all. Systematically laid out and recorded resulting in prompt identification of burial places. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Pine Hill - Where this and other burial places mentioned below are located is on the direct Batavia Road
near Genesee Street. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Bethel Cemetery - Polish - Established in 1849; 3 1/2 acres, portion only used for burial.
Fronting on Fillmore Avenue, between Batavia and Sycamore Street. (City of Buffalo)
The Jacobson Society - T first privately owned. Bethel Society, after opening of Pine Hill, obtained a lot there 2 1/2 acres, and in 1861 opened Bethel Cemetery (above), near German and French Cemetery. Jacobson Society successed by Beth Zion, which purchased burying ground at Pine Hill; Temple Society united with it, forming Temple Beth Zion. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Temple Beth Zion Cemetery - Contains an area of 60 ft. front and 450 ft. deep; inadequate.
Old cemetery lot on Fillmore Avenue sold to private parties, with provision it be kept well fenced and guarded. (City of Buffalo)
Cemetery of St. John at Pine Hill - This ground belongs to the Lutherans; located on a corner of the Pine Hill and Ridge Roads. Contains several acres, purchased in 1858. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Holy Rest - or Old German Trinity Cemetery at Pine Hill - Contains 3 acres; opened in 1859. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Zion Cemetery Pine Hill - Belongs to German Evangelical Reformed Zion Church; Contains 4 acres, open 1859. (Town of Cheektowaga)
The Salem Evangelical Mission - of Zion church also used Zion Church Burial Grounds. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Mount Hope Cemetery at Pine Hill - Property of Mr. Rapin, is appropriated to burials without respect to nationally or form religion. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Howard Free Cemetery at Pine Hill - Private grounds, devoted to burials from the countryside outside of Buffalo. (Town of Cheektowaga)
Concordia Cemetery - A union ground; situated on Genesee Street between N.Y.C. R.R. and Erie R.R. crossings; (City of Buffalo)
comprises 15 acres; bought in 1858, opened 1859.
Ground appropriated as follows;
German Evangelical, St. Peter's 5 acres
German Evangelical St. Stephens 5 acres
1st German Lutheran Trinity 3 acres
The Keepers premises 2 acres
St. Mathews United Church Cemetery - Located in Clinton Street near Sulphur Springs Orphan Asylum; contains 10 acres; Opened 1875; a beautiful spot. (West Seneca)
German Methodist Cemetery - belongs to Black Rock German Evangelical M. E. Church, North Buffalo; situated on Bird contains 5 1/1 acres; opened 1870. (City of Buffalo)
Reservation Cemetery - This is the old Indian church burying ground, on the continuation of Seneca Street;
has grave of Indian chief Red Jacket; who was buried with Christian rites. His remains were removed to the Cattaraugus Reservation in 1852; it is hoped to succeed in persuading his people to permit burial in Forest Lawn. (City of Buffalo)