Nathan Howard had a blacksmith shop on the north side of the road at the end of the bridge.
Russel Howard and Albert Crane built a steam shingle mill, thus opening up a new industry.
The locality was know by lumbermen as "Hemstreets Mill' but generally,
the little settlement was known far and near as "Frog Pond" from a large swamp
of some twenty acres a little distance east from the sawmill.
On December 4th, 1856, when the town of Elma was formed,
we find the following persons residing in that locality, viz;
Abel N. Button
John W. Griffin
Zinz A. Hemstreet
Amos P. Rowley
Joseph G. Thompson
- Only three or four of these persons are living in Elma in 1900.