Town of Elma,
Erie County, New York 140
About 9/10 mile south of Clinton Street east of Bowen Road, on to
Located on the north bank of Big Buffalo Creek .
Year Established : 1853
Condition of cemetery : The cemetery is well maintained, and has a bench to
Source of Information : Tombstone Readings
Elma Cemetery Association ~ Established 11 July, 1887
Elma, New York 140900
(716) 652 - 0000
Contact Person : Don Beidler ( 716 ) 683 - 2497
Location of cemetery records :
Known by other names :
Elma Village Cemetery
ELMA VILLAGE CEMETERY
Source of Information :
- Oliver H. Clark died February 14th,
1853 and at a meeting of the neighbor held
- at the store on that evening, the
conversation was as to the best place for a cemetery.
- The first place suggested was on
William Standart's land on top of the hill eat of Pond Brook
- and on the north side of the Bullis
Road. The objections, that below the surface was stratum of
- and the land on the east being wet
and swampy would fill the graves with water,
- were considered good and
- The next place presented was on top
of the hill east of Pond Brook on the south side of the Chair
- The same objections, of quicksand and
wet land, served to reject the place.
- Then the table-land on the north bank
of Big Buffalo Creek on land owned by J.B. Briggs,
- was named and after much talk, Mr.
Briggs agreed to sell one and one-half acres for a cemetery.
- Mr. Oliver H. Clark was the first to
be buried there on February 16 th, 1853.
- The sermon was preached by Rev. Wm.
Waith, a Presbyterian minister,
- living in Lancaster but then
preaching every other Sunday afternoon in the Elma
- James R. Jackman moved here April 1st
of this year. At the meeting held at the store
- on the evening of April 4th, Mr.
James R. Jackman, who was present at the previous meeting,
- entered into an agreement with Mr.
Briggs that he, Jackman, would clear the said
- cemetery ground of stumps and
rubbish, grade the ground and survey the same into ranges and
- set out trees on the lots and the
west and north lines of the cemetery, and build a good fence;
- that he would keep account of the
expense, and from the sales of the lots,
- at forty cents per foot of length of
the lot, retain enough to pay he expenses;
- that Mr. Briggs should execute deeds
to the purchasers of lots an after Jackman had received his pay,
- Briggs was to receive the pay until
he had seventy-five dollars,
- when he was to deed the balance of
the cemetery to the cemetery trustees,
- after which they would keep up the
fences. Each purchaser of a lot was to pay the forty cents per
foot front for the lot, and then take care of his own
- Jackman immediately set to work and
had the ground cleared of stumps, graded,
- surveyed and set to trees, and
retained charge until the fall of 1862 he having moved to Marilla
- in October 1859,when the grounds were
left in charge of Mr. James Clark.
- Mrs. Cyrus Hurd died June 30th, 1853.
This was the second burial in the Elma cemetery.
- Mr. James R. Jackman who came April
1st, bough of J.B. Briggs the building lot
- on the west side of the Bowen Road
and between what is now the Cemetery Road and the Mill Race,
- and on which the " American " was
then standing. He also bought of Hurd & Briggs, t
- he right and privilege to erect and
to continue a building over the mill race on the west side of the
Personal visits to Elma Cemetery .
Town of Elma History ~ Jackman 1902
Complied : 3 August
by : Leo J. Kopp and Katherine M. Kopp